Getting Your License Back Following a Missouri DWI Conviction

Kimberly2 1Author:

Kimberly J. Benjamin, Founder & Managing Attorney

Once your license suspension for a DWI conviction in Missouri has expired, you must take certain steps to have your driving privileges reinstated. If you are unsure how to do that, an experienced DWI lawyer from our office would be happy to help. 

Reinstatement Fees and Insurance Requirements

First, you must pay a $45 reinstatement fee to the Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR). You also must provide proof of liability insurance in the form of a SR-22 form, and keep that insurance coverage proof updated for two years from the starting date of your license suspension. The only exception to this requirement is if you are under the age of 21 and had a first-time suspension for driving with a blood alcohol content of 0.02% or more.

Mandatory SATOP Completion

Next, you must file proof with DOR that you completed a Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program (SATOP) or a comparable program. This means that you must undergo an assessment through an Offender Management Unit and complete whatever level of SATOP program that the Qualified Substance Abuse Professional recommends.

Ignition Interlock Device Requirements

You also must provide proof that you have installed an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) if your driving record shows more than one alcohol or drug-related enforcement contact. In this situation, you have to maintain the IID for six months following the date that DOR reinstates your license. If you violate the terms of the IID in any way during the last three months of this six-month period, you will have to keep it in place for additional three-month increments until you can complete a three-month period with no violations.

Additional Requirements for License Reinstatement

If DOR issued you a 90-day Restricted Driving Privilege (RDP), you must provide proof from the company that installed the IID that you had no violations during the restricted period. Otherwise, you must serve an additional 30-day RDP period. Additionally, if DOR revoked your license for one year, you must retake the entire driver exam before you can have your license reinstated.

Finally, if your license also has been suspended or revoked for another reason, such as failure to maintain insurance, failing a roadside blood test, non-payment of child support, or accidents, then you may have to complete other requirements before you can have your license reinstated.

Call Missouri DWI & Criminal Law Center for Legal Advice

Our goal is to offer you personalized, skilled, and experienced legal representation at all stages of your DWI or other criminal proceedings. We pride ourselves on the quality of legal services that we can provide to you. Be sure to contact Benjamin Law Firm, LLC, at (816) 322-8008 or fill out the online information form located here.

Can the Police Pat Me Down to Look for Drugs?

Can the Police Pat Me Down to Look for Drugs?

Can a Police Officer Pat Me Down to Search for Drugs? Being stopped by a police officer can be an intimidating experience for anyone. Even though you might think you’ve done nothing illegal, the cops can disagree. The situation intensifies if law enforcement officers...

Is Self-Defense Considered Resisting Arrest?

Is Self-Defense Considered Resisting Arrest?

Can I Use Self-Defense Against a Police Officer? Everyone has a right to defend themselves against an assault. But what happens if the person assaulting you is a police officer? In such a situation, you may find yourself asking if you still have the right to...

How a DUI Conviction May Affect Your Education in Missouri

How a DUI Conviction May Affect Your Education in Missouri

Can a DUI Conviction Affect Educational Opportunities? A drunk driving conviction in Missouri may affect an individual’s driving privileges and lead to serious legal consequences. However, many people are unaware of the adverse long-term effects that it may have on...