What Happens to My Driver’s License if I Blow Over .08 in a Breathalyzer in Missouri?

Kimberly2 1 Author:

Kimberly J. Benjamin, Founder & Managing Attorney

So, you’ve gone out with your friends for a night on the town and had a couple of drinks. While you know that getting behind the wheel after drinking any significant amount is a bad idea, sometimes we all make less than stellar decisions.

If you were stopped by police while driving after your night on the town and blew a .08 or higher on the breathalyzer, you have probably already been charged with DWI. Now, you need to know what happens to your driver’s license after your DWI charge.

 

Less than 0.08

It is important to note that you may be charged with DWI even if you blow less than a .08 on the breathalyzer test. In the state of Missouri, drivers under the age of 21 and those who are operating commercial vehicles are held to a stricter standard. Even though a .08 is the legal standard for most DWI cases in Missouri, there are times where a lower result can result in charges.

 

First Time Offenders

If you are a first-time offender, the penalties in the state of Missouri are still harsh, but not nearly as bad as some other states. If you blow a .08 on your breathalyzer and have never been cited for DWI in the past, you are looking at a 90-day suspension of your license and a court-mandated installation of an IID on your vehicle.

An IID, or Ignition Interlock Device, is a device that requires you to blow a .00 before your vehicle will start. If you aren’t involved in any driving-related issues during the first 30 days of this suspension, the judge will sometimes lift the suspension for first-time offenders.

 

Multiple Offenses

The penalties become harsher if you blow a .08 on multiple occasions during a traffic stop. Second-time offenders typically have their licenses suspended for one year. If you are found guilty of DWI twice in five years, you can receive a five-year denial of your license. Finally, three or more offenses can result in a license suspension that lasts up to 10 years.

It is important to note that you still have legal rights, even if you blow a .08 on a field-administered breathalyzer test. An attorney who is familiar with Missouri DWI and traffic law can help guide you through the process of lessening your punishments and possibly having all charges against you dropped.

If you’ve been charged with a DWI, contact the Missouri DWI & Criminal Law Center to book a free consultation with an experienced DWI attorney. We will hear your side of the story and create a personalized legal strategy for your specific case. Call today. (816) 322-8008 

The Impact of Mandatory Minimum Sentencing Laws on DWI Cases

What Is the Significance of Mandatory Minimum Sentencing Laws on DWI Cases? Mandatory minimum sentences are an important aspect of the criminal justice system in Missouri. The term refers to the minimum sentence that a convicted person must serve. The judge cannot...