Sexual Assault Criminal Charges in Kansas City, Missouri
Are you facing sexual assault charges in Kansas City? A sex crime conviction can affect your life long after you finish your sentence. Convicted sex offenders must register in the sex offender registry, sometimes for life. You could also face social rejection, reputation damage, and emotional trauma.
You need to know your rights and options as a defendant in a sex crime case and how the legal process works. This article gives you some basic information about sexual offenses in Kansas City. However, seeking personalized legal representation and guidance is crucial if you want to successfully fight the charges against you.
A qualified sexual assault lawyer in Kansas City can assess your case, explain your options, and work to get your charges dropped or reduced. Contact our Kansas City sex crimes attorney at Missouri DWI & Criminal Law Center today for a free consultation.
Missouri Sexual Assault Laws
Chapter 566 of the Missouri Revised Statutes provides for sex offenses, their definitions, and penalties. Sexual assault is a broad category that encompasses several non-consensual sex offenses. These crimes are categorized based on the type of sex, the age of the victim, and how much harm was inflicted and force was used.
Sexual assault crimes in Missouri include:
- First-degree rape: Having sexual intercourse with someone who can’t consent, doesn’t consent, or is incapacitated, or through the use of force
- Second-degree rape: Having sexual intercourse with someone knowing that they don’t consent to it
- First-degree statutory rape: Having sexual intercourse with someone under 14
- Second-degree statutory rape: Having sexual intercourse with someone under 17 when you are 21 or older
- First-degree sodomy: Having oral or anal sex with someone who can’t consent, doesn’t consent, is incapacitated, or is forced
- Second-degree sodomy: Having oral or anal sex with someone knowing that they don’t consent to it
- First-degree statutory sodomy: Having oral or anal sex with someone under 14 years old
- Second-degree statutory sodomy: Having oral or anal sex with someone under 17 when you are 21 or older
- First-degree sexual abuse: Purposefully making sexual contact with someone who can’t consent, doesn’t consent, or is incapacitated, or through the use of force
- Second-degree sexual abuse: Purposefully making sexual contact with someone without their consent
Misdemeanor vs. Felony Sex Crimes
Sex crimes can be either misdemeanors or felonies in Missouri. The penalties depend on the class of the crime:
- Class A felony: First-degree rape and first-degree sodomy involving the use of a weapon, serious bodily injury, or a child under 12 years old, statutory first-degree rape, and statutory first-degree sodomy. The penalty is ten to 30 years in prison or life in prison.
- Class B felony: First-degree rape, first-degree sodomy, statutory first-degree rape, statutory first-degree, and first-degree sexual abuse that involves the use of a weapon or is done to a child under 14 years old. The penalty is five to 15 years in prison.
- Class C felony: First-degree sexual abuse. The penalty is three to ten years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
- Class D felony: Second-degree rape, second-degree statutory rape, second-degree sodomy, second-degree statutory sodomy. The penalty is up to seven years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
- Class E felony: Second-degree sexual abuse with prior sex offense convictions punishable by up to four years in prison
- Class A misdemeanor: Second-degree sexual abuse punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,000
Potential Defenses Against Kansas City Sexual Assault Charges
There are several rape and sexual assault defenses that your attorney can use to challenge your charges. Here are the most commonly used ones:
Innocence: Your defense counsel can raise this defense to assert your non-involvement in the alleged crime. It may involve presenting an alibi supported by witnesses or providing evidence like DNA analysis, surveillance footage, receipts, or GPS data that disproves the case against you. You can also argue misidentification by the victim or an ulterior motive.
Consent: This defense claims that sexual acts were consensual. However, consent is not a valid defense for cases involving minors or individuals with mental illness.
Insanity: Your attorney can argue that your mental illness impaired your moral judgment, thus rendering you incapable of understanding the crime’s nature and its consequences. You’ll need to prove that, at the time of the alleged crime, you couldn’t discern right from wrong due to your mental condition.
Transparent and Honest Approach
At Missouri DWI & Criminal Law Center, we believe in transparency and honesty. We don’t hide fees, overcharge, or make unrealistic promises.
We are upfront and transparent about our services, fees, and expected results. We communicate with you every step of the way to keep you informed of the progress and outcome of your cases. You can trust us to provide honest and realistic advice based on our extensive experience and knowledge of the law.
We prioritize giving our clients a significant Return on Investment (ROI). We save you money by reducing fines, fees, penalties, or damages. We also help you avoid costly mistakes, delays, or complications.
Schedule Your Free Consultation With Us!
Ready to fight your sex crime charges with the help of an experienced, award-winning defense attorney? Reach out to us at Missouri DWI & Criminal Law Center today to schedule your free consultation.