A Complete Guide to Your Missouri License Reinstatement
Kimberly J. Benjamin, Founder & Managing Attorney
November 27. 2020.
How to Handle a Missouri License Reinstatement
Often individuals lose their right to lawfully drive for engaging in activities that they didn’t understand were illegal. However, ignorance of the law is no excuse, so you may end up with a suspended or revoked license. In order to legally be able to drive after revocation or suspension, you need a Missouri license reinstatement.
A suspension suggests that your driving rights have been withdrawn for a certain amount of time. A revoked license indicates that it has been canceled entirely. Regardless of whether it was revoked or suspended, you can be charged with serious penalties if you drive during the time period when your license is not valid.
To better understand the reinstatement requirements for your license, consult a skilled attorney from Missouri DWI & Criminal Law Center at the Benjamin Law Firm, LLC. In some cases, you may experience limitations such as limited driving privilege or an ignition interlock device, but ideally, you will be able to regain some driving privileges.
Why You Might Need a Missouri Drivers License Reinstatement
When you are working on your Missouri driver’s license reinstatement, you will likely require a reputable local law firm’s assistance. After you have lost your driving privileges in MO, you can follow these three steps to get it reinstated:
- Determine why your license was denied, revoked, or suspended, (if you are unsure).
- If your address on your license is up-to-date, you will receive this information in the letter you received from the Driver License Bureau or on your Missouri driver record.
- The reasons you lost your license.
Reasons You Might Lose Your License
Most people believe that if their license were suspended, they would know it, but many factors could lead to revocation. Considering that driving on a suspended license is such a major offense, you should periodically check your record.
The most common reasons you may have lost your driving privilege are:
- Alcohol-related accidents
- Driving without insurance during an “at fault” vehicular accident
- Failure to make a traffic court appearance
- Five or more toll violations
- Fleeing the scene of an accident
- Nonpayment of child support
- Substance abuse traffic tickets
- Ten or more unpaid parking tickets
- Three traffic tickets within a year
- Unpaid traffic tickets
If the contact information on your license is incorrect or was not updated after relocation, you may not receive a notification that it was revoked or suspended. Discovering this at a routine traffic stop would be a problem, as you would also be accused of driving without a license.
Once you know why you lost your driving privileges, the next question you will likely ask is, “How do I get my driver’s license back?”
License Reinstatement Missouri
When your suspension ends, you need to follow specific steps and pay fees for license reinstatement in Missouri before you can lawfully drive. The cost of the payment depends on why you initially lost your license. The expense varies from $70 to $500.
The course for reinstating your driving privileges is challenging but straightforward. The Secretary of State provides formal and informal hearings. Informal hearings are generally performed at DMVs, but a formal hearing is required for these reasons:
- Cancellation or modification of a revocation or suspension or order
- Multiple DUI suspension or revocation
- Out-of-state reinstatement
- Restricted Driving Permit (RDP) following a Monitored Device Driving Permit (MDDP)
The process of Missouri license reinstatement is complex. An experienced lawyer will look at each occurrence that contributed to causing the revocation and figure out whether any can be removed from your record.
If an attorney believes that one or more of the scenarios is questionable or the evidence is faulty, he or she may take your case to court. Contact a skilled counselor to determine whether you have a claim.
Missouri Drivers License Reinstatement Fee
To arrange an official hearing, you need to send an official request and a $50.00 Missouri driver’s license reinstatement fee via cash, check, or credit debit cards like Mastercard, Discover, and American Express.
Pay your Missouri Drivers License reinstatement fee at the Driver License Bureau in the Truman State Office Building on 301 West High Street, Room 470 Jefferson City, Missouri. You could also mail your forms and fee to the Driver License Bureau at PO Box 200 Jefferson City MO 65105-0200.
Missouri Drivers License Reinstatement Online
To research your Missouri driver’s license reinstatement online, the simplest method is to browse your driving record on the Missouri Department of Revenue website. You can buy a copy of your driver record at any Missouri license office or call (573) 526-3669. The basic fee is $2.82 per driver’s record, but there may be additional fees as well.
In complex DWI cases, some may wonder, “Can I reinstate my license if I have a 10-year denial after a DWI?”
You may be eligible for a limited driver’s license, and you might need to finish a list of requirements that include a MO driver’s test before getting the license reinstated. If you are allowed a total reinstatement, the accompanying conditions are less extensive. You might only need to pay the reinstatement charges and acquire SR-22 insurance protection to reinstate your license within two or three business days.
Reinstate Missouri Drivers License
It is possible for people whose license was revoked to reinstate a Missouri driver’s license. MO residents can request a license reinstatement after a 5-year period from the original conviction. Out-of-state drivers can petition after 10 years.
If your license is suspended due to an accumulation of points, you need to obtain SR22 coverage from your insurance company for two years from the date of suspension. You will also need to pay a reinstatement charge at the DMV. If your license has been suspended for more than six months, you might need to retake the MO Drivers Test. Typically, a lawyer is not required for a points reinstatement.
When you are getting your license back after a Missouri DWI conviction, you will need SR22 insurance coverage for two years from the date of suspension. You may need to complete the Substance Awareness Traffic Offender Program SATOP. A Missouri license reinstatement charge needs to be paid at the DMV. If it has been longer than six months, you may need to pass the driver’s test again and install an ignition interlock device for six (6) months. A qualified counselor may be able to help you retain your driving privilege, so a reinstatement is unnecessary.
State of Missouri Application for Reinstatement of Individual License
If your license has been withdrawn, you need a state of Missouri Application for Reinstatement of individual license. Driving is a day-to-day part of life for a lot of Americans. A license suspension or revocation makes it challenging to get to work, school, or medical appointments and run errands like banking or shopping for necessities.
Connect with us to learn more about the process for reinstating your driving privileges in Missouri after your license is suspended.
If you have been drinking, use our "Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) Calculator"to estimate your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) before you drive, but please keep in mind that the information it provides is just an estimate and may not be inaccurate.