Whether you have been the victim of domestic violence or you are being accused of it, you will need to know the statute of limitations for domestic violence in Missouri.
What Is the Statute of Limitations for Domestic Violence in Missouri?
Domestic violence is a serious crime, and regardless of age, gender, race, sexual orientation, or socioeconomic status, it can happen to anyone.
The Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services defines domestic violence as “a pattern of abusive behavior in any relationship used by one partner to gain or maintain power and control over another intimate partner.”
Domestic crimes are typically committed by someone who lives in the victim’s home or is in a close relationship with them. This can include family members and romantic partners. Domestic violence, sexual assault, stalking, and murder are all considered domestic crimes.
Missouri does not have a statute of limitations for any crime that involves domestic violence. This means that a charge can be filed at any time, even if the incident was many years ago.
Who Are Domestic Crime Victims in MO?
The Missouri Department of Public Safety defines a domestic victim as someone related to or has an intimate relationship with the offender. The victim may be a spouse, former spouse, parent, child, sibling, or any other person who has resided in the same household with the offender for not less than six months.
Domestic violence can happen to anyone. Unfortunately, there is often shame associated with these incidents, so victims are sometimes hesitant to seek help. And, the alleged perpetrators of domestic violence are often suffering as well.
Partner or family abuse situations are complicated. It’s important to take seriously all reports or even hints of a domestic violence problem.
What Are the Penalties for Domestic Violence in Missouri?
According to the official Missouri Domestic Violence Program website, “Missouri is the only state in the country that defines domestic violence as a misdemeanor.”
Nonetheless, in Missouri, domestic abuse is still a serious crime. This infraction can include actions such as physical violence, sexual assault, and verbal harassment.
If you commit this crime knowingly or maliciously, you could be fined up to $1000 and sentenced to up to a year in prison.
What Are the Penalties for Domestic Assault in MO?
Domestic assault is a serious crime in Missouri and all states. The penalties for domestic assault vary depending on the severity of the attack, whether there were any injuries, and the offender’s past criminal record.
In Missouri, if you are convicted of domestic assault in the first degree, you may face up to 7 years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines. If you are convicted of second-degree domestic assault, you may face up to 4 years in prison and up to $3,000 in fines.
Suppose you are convicted of third-degree domestic assault or a Class C misdemeanor domestic assault (minor injury). In that case, your sentence will be less severe with potential jail time or community service hours.
Hiring a Law Firm for Domestic Violence
The consequences of domestic violence are devastating and may include injuries such as broken bones, bruises, or cuts; chronic pain; mental health issues such as depression or post-traumatic stress disorder; and even death.
In addition to the physical harm it causes, domestic violence can lead to financial difficulties due to loss of income or the need for medical care. Victims may also face social isolation from friends and family members who don’t understand what they have been through.
Some people may report and pursue domestic violence cases years later, once they come to terms with the suffering it has caused. Because there is no statute of limitations in Missouri, they can do this.
The consequences of being convicted of domestic violence are severe. If you or a loved one has been charged with domestic violence, contact the Missouri DWI & Criminal Law Center for a consultation.