How Many Points is a DWI in Missouri?
The Missouri Department of Revenue and the Driver’s License Bureau have authority over all Missouri driver’s licenses.
The department assigns points to each driver’s record as they get convicted for traffic offenses depending on the severity of the crime. When the points have reached a certain level, the driver might lose their license.
Different offenses, one of which is a DWI, might add points to your license.
What is a DWI, and how does it count towards the withdrawal of a driver’s license in Missouri? Read on to find out.
What is DWI?
DWI is an abbreviation for Driving While Intoxicated. If law enforcement agents stop you in Missouri, you may be charged with DWI if you are accused of driving in a public place while impaired by alcohol or drugs.
When you are stopped or arrested for driving a vehicle when your blood alcohol level is above the legal limit, two independent parts of Missouri law control the arrest and suspension or loss of the driving privilege:
If the police find your blood alcohol content level (BAC) higher than the legal limit or you deny the BAC test, you will face a separate suspension or loss of your driving privileges under this statute. Even if the said ticket was disposed of in court or reduced to a lower charge, you still get an automatic suspension or revocation.
This legislation is concerned with the ticket that was issued. Suppose you are convicted of an alcohol-related offense. In that case, the court will submit a copy of your conviction to the department, which will impose the appropriate points on your driving record. Your driving privilege may be suspended or revoked due to the point assessment.
How Are the Points Assessed for DWI?
For an intoxication-related traffic offense, points are added to a person’s Missouri driver record as follows:
These refer to first time DWI offenders such as:
- Persons who are first offenders with high blood alcohol content (BAC)
- First-time offenders for driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DWI)
If you have a DWI or BAC conviction for the first time, you will get 8 points to your driving record and a 90-day driving ban. Depending on the circumstances, the person may qualify for a Restricted Driving Permit (RDP).
Suppose you are convicted of operating a commercial motor vehicle with an alcohol concentration of 0.04 percent or greater. In that case, you will receive an additional 2 points on your Missouri driver record and be barred from driving commercial vehicles for one year.
When you get a second DWI, the restrictions get stricter. Regardless of how long you had your first DWI, the court will usually impose enough points to result in a one-year license suspension. Most likely, DWI convictions after your first will get you 12 points.
Missouri may also revoke your license for five years if the violation happens within five years of your last DWI. If you have had two DWI convictions, a third conviction might result in a loss of your license for ten years.
Need Help With Your DWI Points?
Your driver’s license is not the only reason to look out for your DWI points. DWI points can also make it difficult to work if you are a commercial driver. Your DWI points can also raise the cost of your insurance premiums and even make it difficult to get insurance.
As a result, many people hire DWI attorneys in Missouri to handle their cases. A DWI attorney will help you find a way to keep your points low and, in certain situations, help you maintain your existing work.
If you have points on your license, you might want to reach out to a Missouri DWI attorney now to explore the possibility of getting them removed.