Misdemeanor DWI Charges
There are some myths surrounding misdemeanor DWI charges in Kansas City, MO. The two common ones are that it is impossible to win a DWI suit and that you will lose your license and driving privileges indefinitely.Depending on the DUI charge, blood alcohol content, and the legal defense strategy, winning a DWI suit and keeping your driver’s license may be possible. “Is a DWI a Felony?” an experienced Kansas City DUI lawyer can answer these questions and more regarding DWI misdemeanor and felony charges.
Classification of Driving While Intoxicated Charges in Kansas City
Facts on DWI Missouri reveal that crimes are categorized as misdemeanors when they are punishable by a fine, incarceration at a county jail or both. The jail time may vary between a few days to up to a year. In some cases, the individual may even be ordered to complete programs or services assigned by the courts.
Class A Misdemeanor DWI
A person will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor DWI if they have prior drunk driving offenses within the last five years. It is punishable by a jail term of up to one year and payment of a fine up to $2,000. You may also face suspension of your motor vehicle license for one year and be directed to install an ignition interlock device in your car.
Class B Misdemeanor DWI
An individual convicted of a DWI offense for the first time is usually charged with a Class B misdemeanor. The punishments associated with this offense are relatively less severe than a Class A misdemeanor DWI.Such a charge is usually punishable by a jail term of up to six months, a fine of $500, or driver’s license suspension for up to 90 days. However, the person may be required to use an ignition interlock device after their driver’s license is reinstated.Furthermore, they may be subjected to consequences such as mandatory community service or compulsory substance abuse evaluation, treatment, or counseling.
Persistent offenders are individuals with two intoxication-related offenses on their criminal record. A defendant can also be classified as a persistent offender if he has one intoxication-related offense and one involuntary manslaughter, assault, or assault of a police officer on his record.These prior convictions convert your DWI charge to a Class D felony, which carry severe penalties. A persistent offender can face up to seven years behind bars.You could be categorized as an aggravated or chronic offender if you have prior DWI convictions or a prior felony DWI. Such prior convictions will result in harsher DUI penalties, including being charged with a Class B felony.
Can a DWI Be Expunged in Kansas City?
DWI expungement is possible in Kansas City if the defendant complies with the various conditions prescribed by Missouri law.Once DUI convictions have been expunged, the Missouri DUI record will be hidden from public view, and you will not suffer the consequences of having a DWI record.Consider seeking the assistance of a DWI lawyer for your DWI in Missouri.
Charged With DWI in Kansas City, MO?
All hope is not lost if you face DUI charges in Kansas City, MO. Persons accused may face penalties, including serving a jail sentence and paying a fine. You have better odds of winning a DWI case, reducing the sentence, and avoiding a trial by hiring an attorney experienced in representing DWI cases.While one person may suffer the penalties of a misdemeanor DUI conviction, another may be acquitted due to a solid DUI defense provided by a knowledgeable DWI attorney. Contact the Missouri DWI & Criminal Law Center in Kansas City, MO, for a free consultation today!