Hidden Costs of a Kansas City DUI
What are the hidden costs of a Kansas City DUI? The associates of Missouri DWI & Criminal Law Center offer answers, information, and resources. Call today!
Kimberly J. Benjamin, Founder & Managing Attorney
January 26. 2023.
DUI in Kansas City
Driving under the influence of drugs or alcoholic substances is illegal in Kansas City, Missouri. If a law enforcement officer pulls you to a stop and finds that your blood alcohol content (BAC) is over 0.08%, they will arrest you on DUI charges. The legal limit of blood alcohol level under Missouri DUI law is even lower for commercial drivers (0.04%) and minors (0.02%).
Being stopped for DUI in Kansas City can cause long-term financial stress. Apart from the risk of losing your license, you may have to pay expensive fines or face incarceration. You may be subject to certain hidden costs, such as a rise in car insurance premiums.
Have you been arrested on criminal charges for DUI in Kansas City? Contact a criminal defense attorney in Kansas City immediately to avoid harsh consequences.
How Much Does DUI Cost in Kansas City?
If you are convicted of driving under the influence in Kansas City, it can cost anywhere from $1000 to $10,000 in fines. The potential fines and other penalties depending on the circumstances of the DUI case.
The cost of a DUI ticket in Kansas City depends primarily on whether this is a first-time DUI conviction or if you are a repeat offender. A first-time DUI ticket can cost you up to $1,000. If convicted, you may also face incarceration for up to 6 months, and your driver’s license could be suspended for 30 days.
The BAC concentration at the time of the arrest can also be a factor in determining the penalty.
In many cases, the court will also order you to attend a drug and alcohol program. You can request for DUI & DWI expungement later to have your DUI arrest removed from your public records.
If you are unlucky enough to get into a drunk driving accident, the case may be treated as a felony. The penalties, in this case, are harsher, and you will be prohibited from driving until you install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.
Average Cost of a DUI in Kansas City
The average cost of a DUI in Kansas City is about $750. A first offense carries a fine of up to $1000. If convicted. a second time, it would result in fines of up to $2000.
Indirect Costs of a DUI in Kansas City
Apart from the penalties of fines, jail time, and loss of driving privileges, if you are convicted of DUI in Kansas City, you will incur other hidden costs, such as:
Loss of employment
A DUI charge could cost your job, especially if your work involves driving a motor vehicle. Even without a conviction, being arrested for a DUI can tarnish your reputation, which may cause employers to not want to associate with you. As a result, finding a new job can be extremely difficult.
Increased car insurance rates
A DUI conviction in Kansas City can cause a significant rise in your annual insurance costs. A DUI can put a lot of strain on your finances.
Installation and monitoring of BAC devices
After a DUI conviction, the judge could order mandatory installation of the ignition interlock device on your car. This device will prevent your vehicle from starting if you register a blood alcohol content (BAC) over 0.08%.
You are supposed to blow into the device before starting your vehicle.
What Penalties Are There for DWI in Missouri?
Kansas City is stringent regarding drunk driving, which results in severe consequences. The penalties for DWI in Missouri are:
First DWI Offense
A DWI offense in Missouri falls under a Class B misdemeanor. Its penalties include:
30-day driver’s license suspension, after which you are placed under a restricted hardship license for 60 days, where you can only operate a vehicle when driving to and from work.
A fine of up to $1000, jail time of up to 6 months, or both.
May be given probation for 1-2 years with no drinking.
May be instructed to enroll in a SATOP (Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program).
Second DWI Offense
If you get a second DWI within five years, it is classified as a Class A misdemeanor and comes with the following penalties:
A license suspension for up to 1 year or even 5 years if the previous conviction was within a period of 5 years.
A fine of up to $2,000, jail time of up to one year, or both.
You may be required to take mandatory alcohol treatment.
Enrollment in a SATOP (Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program).
1-2 years of probation without drinking.
Installation of ignition interlock device when your license is reinstated.
Third DWI Offense
A third DWI offense in Missouri is treated as a Class D felony and carries the following penalties:
Suspension or the revocation of your driver’s license for up to 10 years.
A fine of up to $10,000, imprisonment for up to 4 years, or both.
Fourth DWI Offense
If you pick up another DWI after your third offense, you are considered an aggravated offender, and your case will be treated as a Class C felony. Its penalty is a fine of up to $5,000, incarceration for up to seven years, or both.
Fifth DWI Offense
You are considered a chronic offender if you get a fifth consecutive DWI. This type of case is treated as a Class B felony and carries a penalty of up to 5 to 15 years in prison.
How Much Does a DUI Lawyer in Kansas City Cost?
The cost of a DUI lawyer in Kansas City typically depends on their experience and reputation.
Drunk driving is considered a severe offense under Missouri law, whether the charge is DUI or DUID. The penalties can be harsh, but a Criminal Defense Attorney from Missouri DWI and Criminal Law Center can help you fight the DUI charges, get your license back if it was confiscated during the arrest process for DUI, and even help you with expungement Missouri. Get in touch with us now to get started on this and more!
If you have been drinking, use our "Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) Calculator"to estimate your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) before you drive, but please keep in mind that the information it provides is just an estimate and may not be inaccurate.