How Does the Missouri Driving Point System Work?
Driving Point Policies
Many states maintain driving point systems that assess points for specific violations. Those points are then used to prompt disciplinary action. The Department of Revenue oversees Missouri’s driving point system. The Department of Revenue (DOR) adds points to your driving record when you are convicted of a moving violation. Moving violations are defined as violations committed while your vehicle was in motion. The DOR does not add points for non-moving violations, such as parking tickets.
How the Point System Works
The number of points the DOR adds to your record depends on the violation you were convicted of and under what jurisdiction it falls. For example, the DOR will add three points to your record for violating a state speed limit law and 12 points for driving on a suspended or revoked license. Review the DOR’s exhaustive list of conviction-based point assessments to determine how many points you will receive for your specific conviction.
There are three phases in the point system, including notice, suspension and revocation.
If you accumulate four points within 12 months, the DOR will send you an advisory notice. Your license will not be suspended.
If you accumulate eight or more points within 18 months, the DOR will suspend your driving privileges for 30 days, if it is your first suspension. A second suspension will be for 60 days and a third or subsequent suspension will be for 90 days.
The DOR will revoke your driving privileges for one year if you accumulate 12 or more points within 12 months, 18 or more points in 24 months or 24 or more points in 36 months.
When your license is reinstated, the DOR will lower your total point count to four and those points will reduce each year you go without accumulating more points.
An Attorney Can Help You Fight Your License Suspension
While it’s best to work with an attorney to fight your citations before you are convicted, you might have options for relief even after the DOR adds points to your record. You may appeal a decision made by the DOR within 30 days of the notice being issued, although appeals require skilled legal guidance. Qualified drivers may be eligible to apply for a Restricted Driving Privilege (RDP) or a Limited Driving Privilege (LDP), depending on their conviction(s) and the need for driving privileges. Again, have an experienced Missouri driver’s license defense attorney help you to ensure your request is given fair consideration.
If you are facing a license suspension, it’s essential you seek the right help. If you need trusted legal guidance in Cass County, Kansas City or the surrounding areas, the Missouri DWI & Criminal Law Center at the Benjamin Law Firm, LLC can help. The attorneys at Missouri DWI & Criminal Law Center have the skills and experience needed to guide Missouri residents through some of life’s most challenging moments. Trained at the nationally renowned Gerry Spence Trial Lawyers College and mentored under award-winning trial attorney and firm founder Kim Benjamin, you can trust our attorneys will fight with determination to get you the best outcome possible. Call our office at 816-322-8008, email us at [email protected] or fill out our confidential online form to schedule a consultation with one of our fierce legal advocates today.
If you have been drinking, use our "Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) Calculator"to estimate your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) before you drive, but please keep in mind that the information it provides is just an estimate and may not be inaccurate.
How Can We Help You?
KANSAS CITY OFFICE
(By Appointment Only)
1475 Walnut Street,
Kansas City, MO 64106.