Understanding the Process of Missouri Driver’s License Reinstatement
According to the Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR), there are three steps that you should take if you are seeking to have your license reinstated after it has been suspended, revoked, or denied.
First, you must determine the reason for your suspension, revocation, or denial. You would have received this information in a letter from DOR when you first lost your license. However, if you aren’t sure of the reason, you can get an official copy of your driving record from any Missouri license office or by calling (573) 526-2407.
If all the dates on the letters you received when you lost your license indicate that you can get your license back, you must submit the proper forms and fees to the DOR. If your license was suspended or revoked for more than one reason, you may have to complete multiple forms and pay multiple fees.
For example, if you lost your license due to having too many points as a result of speeding tickets, but you also lost your license because you were convicted of DUI, then you would have to submit the following to get your Missouri driver’s license reinstated:
For the points suspension, you must pay a $20 reinstatement fee, file and maintain proof of SR-22 liability insurance for two years, and retake the complete driver exam if you lost your license for one year or more.
For the DWI conviction, you would have to pay a $45 reinstatement fee, show the same proof of liability insurance, file proof that you completed SATOP or a comparable program, and, if your driver record shows more than one alcohol or drug-related enforcement contact, file proof of installation of an ignition interlock device (IID), which you must maintain for six months, or longer if you commit any violations related to the ignition interlock device.
Preparing to Reinstatement Your Missouri Driver’s License
Once you have completed all the requirements to reinstate your license, you must ensure you’re prepared before submitting your application and filing any fees. Here are some tips to help you get ready:
Gather all the necessary documents, such as proof of insurance, SR-22 forms, a completed driver improvement course certificate, and any other paperwork requested by the DOR.
Check your records for any unpaid fees or fines so that they can be paid in full before submitting your application for reinstatement.
Ensure you have a valid license that has not expired, been suspended, revoked, or denied.
Make sure to send your application and fees during the period of suspension and at least 10 days before you would like to reinstate your license. This will allow enough time for processing before you can expect your new driver’s license.
Contact a Skilled Attorney
Given the potential penalties, consulting with an experienced DWI defense lawyer can be critical to your ability to avoid these potentially harsh consequences. The attorneys at Benjamin Law Firm, LLC, have handled the legal representation of countless individuals in DWI, DUI for drugs or medication, and traffic violation cases. We want to help you avoid as many repercussions of a criminal record as possible. Call our office at (816) 205-4119 to schedule an appointment to speak with us today.